Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Things I’ve been doing

Posted by Jerry on June 25, 2006

I've been quite busy lately, with work and all. I haven't had the time to blog at all! And also, World Cup Football Fever is still going on, which I have been watching staying up late late into the nights. Infact, the game yesterday between Argentina and Mexico was incredibly exciting! It started out with overwhelming excitement as in the first 5 mins of the game Mexico shot a goal against Argentina! In my excitement (I was rooting for Mexico, btw) I was trying to text message my friend Sean who was also watching the match at the same time… but before I could complete the few lines of my text msg, Argentian blasted back into the game with a goal–two goals in the first 10 mins of the game! It was incredible!

Anyway, in the end however, after prolonging the game with a 1-1 score into extra-time, Mexico conceded a goal to Argentina, and thei World Cup dreams crumbled almost viscerally right there. It was quite disheartening to see Mexico defeated after such a valiant battle they put forward.

Well, actually the previous evening, Sean, his brother, and myself had a nice time out at Pop Tate's, a local "Unrestaurant"–as they call themselves. With 2 pitchers of screw drivers and some meaty appetizers, we had plenty of silly conversations and fun. Oh, and we also concocted preliminary plans of starting up a business together! So, we'll see how that goes. It's still in its cooking stages… it might take months or years for it to come to fruition, if at all.

Besides all that, work has been interesting. I have reading works on James Joyce's Dubliner's, the Miko dance of the Japanese Buddhists, Florence Nightingale's Notes on Nursing and its influence in shaping the British imperialist identity, etc. I cannot complain much about my work; except, I get only alternate Saturday's off–which makes my alternate long weeks simply exhausting! I've realized that a tired brain is much worse than a tired body. And surely, my brain is exhausted from all that intellectual exercise it gets all day all week. Whew!

And finally, now, I am in the process of finalizing my application for a job with the UN in Rome. I'm strategizing my ways of getting out of the drudgery of life in India. Hopefully, this application will work out, and I might be able to experience lovely Italy–and its HOT HOT Italian men! 😉 Roma, Roma! Mucho bienne!

2 Responses to “Things I’ve been doing”

  1. Ah, Roma, che bella citta! Mi piace moltissimo, e voglio andare visitarte.

    Football is mildly interesting, but the idea of you in Rome is exciting. Make sure you get a place with room for me to stay, and in return I will offer you a tour of Paris…

  2. ergosum said

    Certainly; if I do infact get to Roma, and find a place that could fit me and you in it comfortably (i.e. without us having to walk sideways inside the apt), then I’d freely invite you for a visit! A tour of Paris in exchange is enticing. Tres bien, monsieur!

Leave a comment