Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Books/Authors – Past and Future

Posted by Jerry on December 30, 2005

Books/Authors that I read in 2005 [this list does not mean I liked all of the books/authors that I read, nor is this an exhaustive listing of all my reading activities]:

The Idiot – by Dostoevsky

The Da Vinci Code – by Dan Brown

Judgement Day – by Nathaniel Branden

What Art is – by Louis Torres & Michelle Marder Kamhi

The Irrational Man: A Study in Existential Philosophy – by William Barrett

Philosophy: From Hellenes to Heidegger – I don’t remember the author’s name

Objectivism and the Corruption of Rationality: A Critique of Ayn Rand’s Epistemology – by Scott Ryan

Digital Fortress – by Dan Brown

The Russian Radical – by Chris Sciabarra

We The Living – by Ayn Rand
==================================================

Books I’d like to read in 2006:

Brother Karamazov – by Dostoevsky

Madame Bovary – by Gustave Flaubert

The World is Flat – by Thomas Friedman
==================================================

I can’t think of any other one’s I wish to read.

Any other suggestions? I typically read non-fiction works, though I don’t like reading political non-fiction.

10 Responses to “Books/Authors – Past and Future”

  1. Semperviva said

    That one by virginia wolf about shakespeare’s sister- is it a room with a view? ithink thats whatit’s called… and Orthodoxy by G. K. chesterton… these are both what i plan to read, and the newest anne rice book since she bacame catholic LOL hehe… psi saw kingkong it made me cry! thats a huge thing i neeeever ever cry

  2. Semperviva said

    my friend allan said the idiot is amazing

  3. Ergo Sum said

    Damn! You cried at King Kong!!!?? Yeaaa… that’s wierd.

  4. Erggy,

    Try Confederacy Of Dunces, by John Kennedy Toole.

    Definitely read Madame Bovary. Flaubert is, in the words of a friend, “tits.”

  5. Ergo Sum said

    This post has been removed by the author.

  6. Semperviva said

    HAHA its was very moving jer- lol

  7. Semperviva said

    OH! you should read “The Third Spring” by Dr. Adam Schwartz, an old professor of mine. He’s awesome so his book should be cool.

  8. Semperviva said

    OH ITS

    “a ROOM OF ONES OWN”
    by virginia wolf

    NOT
    a room with a view

    haha close tho!!! 😉

  9. Ergo Sum said

    Confederacy of Fools… that’s the one about some political shit, and Bush.. I remember seeing it at Borders, and confused it with Confederacy of Dunces.

    And yet, it doesn’t seem like my “type” of book… a farcical comedy? Hmm… nah.

  10. Traiteur Rabat Regal; Traiteur de ronome au Maroc

    Traiteur Rabat Regal au Maroc

Leave a comment