Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Personal Activism

Posted by Jerry on February 27, 2008

I have played a significant part in introducing my friend L’Innommable to the ideas of Ayn Rand and Objectivism. In fact, I think I have done the same with most (all?) of my close friends, who have now read the major works of Ayn Rand and agree with at least some of her ideas to some extent.

I think it comes with the territory: out of happenstance, if I befriend someone, they are bound to be exposed to my value-system; indeed, I am certain that my values play a role in the kind of people I keep and value as friends.

As a matter of fact, I know that simply running this blog and writing the occasional article on Objectivism here has introduced several people to Ayn Rand and helped them get a more mature grasp of her ideas. I am happy of these consequences–and they are an added perk because they are not wholly intended. I write on my blog simply because I like setting my thoughts into words, and I derive a serene sense of pride from my writings. That my blog has resulted in some positive–and hopefully, challenging–intellectual experiences for some is a delight to learn about.

Anyway, L’Innommable is in the midst of reading Atlas Shrugged and he has written of his impressions of the book so far. I liked what he had to say. Here’s just an excerpt of his post:

“[Atlas Shrugged] reminds me of a symphony… I see hints, suggestions, undertones, and allusions to what is to come; an exposition on the philosophy of Objectivism. The thing is, it starts out as any good symphony would, not giving too much away in the beginning, but enticing the listener to continue listening for his enjoyment and edification, climbing ever higher to a crescendo that seems inevitable.”

8 Responses to “Personal Activism”

  1. Akhil said

    Jerry,

    Reading your blog has definitely been an amazingly insightful and rewarding experience for me. It inspired me to know more about Ayn Rand’s ideas and read some of her works. I have now realized the importance of ideas like rationality, atheism etc, have become comfortable with the idea of self interest and egoism and am now more convinced about ideas like individualism, capitalism and the viciousness of collectivism. I am glad that I come across you.

    May more people benefit from your blog and personal activism!

    akhil

  2. Ergo said

    Yay!🙂 Thanks Akhil. It’s a pleasure to have you as a friend as well.

  3. evanescent said

    Needless to say Ergo, you and your works have literally changed my life. I remember encoutering your blog on a article about Richard Dawkins and I disagreed with you on your definition of atheist. You corrected me. You also explained morality and moral dilemmas to me in a way I’d never encountered before. After our many e-mail discussions and reading much of Rand’s works at your prompting, I can say that Objectivism is one of the finest things I have ever discovered, and I have you to thank for a whole new and objective outlook on life, and the inspiration to write some excellent articles of my own about Objectivism.

  4. priyank said

    Jay:
    There was lot to learn from here.
    cheers,

  5. Ergo said

    Evanescent and Priyank,

    It’s a delight to read your comments and appreciation. Thanks!

  6. […] Comments Ergo on Personal Activismpriyank on Personal Activismevanescent on Personal ActivismErgo on […]

  7. Nothing like being showcased on Leitmotif.

    Thanks!
    🙂

  8. Mike N said

    I try to visit your site daily. I like the clear, lucid way you make your points and have clarified some of my own thoughts reading your posts. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

 
