Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Past a Quarter Century Plus One

Posted by Jerry on January 22, 2008

Go to fullsize imageWell, I’ve successfully lived 26 years on this planet today. Crazy, no?

Here’s a neat list of what some other people accomplished when they turned 26 [link from Paul at Noodlefood]:

At age 26:

American anthropologist Margaret Mead wrote her famous dissertation, Coming of Age in Samoa, which claimed that in some societies adolescence is not a particularly difficult time.

Albert Einstein published five major research papers in a German physics jornal, fundamentally changing man’s view of the universe and leading to such inventions as television and the atomic bomb.

Benjamin Franklin published the first edition of Poor Richard’s Almanac, which was to play a large role in molding the diverse American character.

Soviet cosmonaut Valentina Chereshkova became the first woman to travel in space.

College dropout Steve Wozniak co-founded Apple Computer. [Woah!]

Eli Whitney invented the cotton gin, revolutionizing the economies of the United States and Britain.

Antoine Joseph Sax invented the brass saxophone.

“Johnny Appleseed” brought apple seeds to the Ohio Valley.

Napoleon Bonaparte conquered Italy.

Gon Yangling memorized more than 15,000 telephone numbers in Harbin, China.

Orion Krynen of Denver, CO reached this age without much incident. [Heheheeeehee. Kinda like how I feel. 🙂]

British ethologist Jane Goodall set up camp in the Gombe Stream Chimpanzee Reserve on Lake Tanganyika and began studying the lives of chimpanzees.

Ken Kesey published his first novel, One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

Thomas Pynchon published V., for which he won the William Faulkner First Novel Award.

Kirsteene Luhrmann of Melburne, Victoria quit smoking. [Nothing for me to worry about]

Stephen Breen from Dublin, Ireland found this site.

Darren Blackburn became the first and only athlete of the Principality of Sealand, despite being somewhat lacking in athletic ability.

Syd Jesus co-founded the dUdU Art Collective in Oakland, California and turned an entire warehouse space into a conceptual art piece entitled “The $5000 Gallery.”

Matthew Royer took a dog for a walk every day of the year in Minnesota, with a coldest daytime high of 0 degrees F. The average walk time was 30 minutes.

Derrick Pallas was horrified to realize he was losing his hair, just like Dad. 🙂 [Gawd, I identify with Derrick!]

Jan Birkeland from Norway managed to get to work without hitting a single red light.

Katherine Blauvelt in a skirt was deemed “all grown-up” by her boyfriend. 🙂

Kristen finally was able to get her fingernails to grow without chipping and peeling because she started taking a multi-vitamin on a daily basis.

Angie Olson got so drunk on her 26th birthday, her friends were able to dress her up as a clown. 🙂

19 Responses to “Past a Quarter Century Plus One”

  1. Happy Birthday! Thanks for the reminder… gosh I’m an awful friend, aren’t I?

    Have fun partying it up and getting trashed! (Do you do that?)

  2. Ergo said

    Getting trashed? Not anymore, really. I’m a family man now. I have kids, you see. 😉 Besides, as I know you’ve heard, I’ve been on a diet lately, and my muscles are showing; so gotta keep that up.

  3. rambodoc said

    Happy birthday! It’s mine, too….
    I celebrated by shutting down the stock market (NSE) today by selling all my millions of stocks.
    I have, of course, nothing much to claim to have achieved. I am, after all, just a bit older than 26….
    Long way to go.
    🙂

  4. Ergo said

    Rambodoc! That’s a cool coincidence. 🙂 Happy Birthday!

  5. evanescent said

    Happy birthday Ergo! All the best mate! 🙂

  6. rationaljenn said

    Happy Birthday! I will add you to my birthday collection–I needed someone with a January 22nd birthda.! Hope it’s a good one!

  7. rationaljenn said

    Durrr…typos….my fingers get waaaay ahead of my bran–I mean brain–sometimes!

  8. Charl said

    Oh ya Ergs was all worried about getting home to his family on time; he was all sober and “omg no more shots, no more shots!” and “gosh this tequila has so many calories!” But I sure got trashed last night so that compensates:D

  9. satyajit said

    Ergo devoured two non-veg platters, swigged 3 mojitos, spilled another, mouth-smoked a quarter of a cigarette, downed a tequilla shot, also a flaming shot, and was sober enough to go home for a family dinner.

  10. Ergo said

    Devoured two non-veg platters!?! Swigged 3 mojitos!!?? Oh ya, sure. And meanwhile y’all just meekly sat aside and watched me eat and drink it all up, eh? Uh huh! Well, I’ll admit I did down one tequilla shot, a flaming tequila shot, and one Kamikazi shot (you missed mentioning that one). But I was still way sober than *any* of you guys, and was alert enough to reign you in from dumping your face into yet another flaming tequilla glass! Let’s say I saved the day and went to a quiet dinner with family. Just like heroes do. 🙂

  11. satyajit said

    oh, I missed the Kamikaze you!

  12. Charl said

    The flaming shot? Delicious. Good one there, Sats. What would we do without you and your atuteness when it comes to the spirits. And your ear-splitting calling out for another round of shots. And another round of shots.

  13. Sinus said

    AND, acted like he was straight!
    Ergo, good job

  14. I can almost hear the “ear-splitting” call for another round! hahaha!

  15. Ergo said

    First off, why in the world are you awake at *this* hour and commenting on my blog?!! Have you screwed up your sleep cycle yet again? tsk tsk tsk.

    Second, that “ear-splitting” call for yet another round of drinks emanated from our dear Satyajit that night. Now, you’ve never heard the guy talk–let alone scream–so, I’m sure it’s not his voice that you can almost “hear”.

  16. Why am I awake? I wake up REALLY early some days now… it’s weird, but got lots to do, ya know.

    And I thought Charl was referring to your earsplitting call for another round of drinks! Ah well… I ALMOST heard it.

  17. Ergo said

    Charl has that effect–of managing to confuse people about things where no confusion could have been thought possible. She’s post-modernist, you see. Typical.

    My ear-splitting screams that night were along these lines (to quote charl): “omg no more shots, no more shots!” and “gosh this tequila has so many calories!”

    You wake up so early now? Gawd.. what must it be that you have to do this early in the morn? Classes and stuff?

  18. John Enright said

    Happy Belated Birthday!

  19. Charl said

    HAHAHA! I happened upon this by accident and was rereading the posts and the comments, some of which I missed earlier. Boy, I’ve been discussed a lot. Yeah, I’m full of ambiguous antecedents, but post-modernist!!? Oh, you boys!

Leave a Reply

 
