Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Family

Posted by Jerry on January 7, 2008

The other night, just as I lay my head on my pillow to sleep, this thought formed in my mind, obviously for some reasons:

In India, a family refers to a group of people related by blood, who are so closely bound to each other–often against their will–that the only kind of glances they can manage among themselves is through the squint of their eye.

3 Responses to “Family”

  1. Sinus said

    Yes, very true, though I see this trend changing in a lot of cases, in my own family and some of people i know and admire (read: D), who do not adhere to this blood is thicker than water bullshit. I am learning this to be very true. Though most lack the courage to live by this finding.

  2. Janet said

    Just because you don’t have a relationship with your family doesn’t mean other people don’t. Move out already, scoflaw.

  3. Ergo said

    Actually, Janet, the point is–I suspect–many people here believe they are *obligated* to have and hold a relationship with their family; often, I believe, this obligation is confused with the reality of whether or not there exists a proper relationship.

    In any case, “moving out” does not address the issue I am referring to here, or perhaps only superficially does.

    P.S. Nice to see you here! Hope your hair ain’t too curly today (increasing curl = high stress).

Leave a Reply

 
