Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Allah-ho-Bad

Posted by Jerry on December 6, 2007

I will be away for a week (and so, no blogging); I’ll be traveling with some of my friends to the city of Allah–ho-bad (some call it Allahabad; same difference).

I’m going to attend my friend’s wedding there; she and I were colleagues at my previous job. I remember being very pleased–but not at all surprised, given her character, personality, and ideas–when I had learned that she had read almost all of Ayn Rand’s works. 🙂 She had seemed the type, ya know? The confident, no-nonsense, go-getter, fun, and practical type.

Oh, and she and I shared another common passion–movies! We both seemed to love the same kind of movies, and we usually had the same kind of responses to the movies we discussed and analyzed while taking a break from our work.

Anyway, she’s cool. And I’m happy to celebrate (with her) her decision to assume a life-long commitment to her immense value.

==== post wedding ====

Below are a coupla pics of the gang of us who went to the wedding. I’m second from the right in the second pic below.

The Girls 

The Men

9 Responses to “Allah-ho-Bad”

  1. Sinus said

    Congrats to ‘ticks! 🙂

  2. Charl said

    Some wedding that turned out to be! I had SO MUCH fun 😀

  3. Priyank said

    Have a nice trip

  4. Ergo said

    Thanks Priyank, that was a good trip.

    The wedding was beautiful, elegant, not very traditional, and intimate in a way. The trip was a lot of fun; I’m also glad to be back, though. 🙂

  5. Wolfgang said

    No photos?

  6. Ergo said

    I actually didn’t take any pictures (even though I carried my camera with me). But if I get my hands on some pictures other’s at the wedding took, I’ll post them on my album.

  7. Ergo said

    Two photos up! 🙂

  8. Charl said

    You boys look SO MUCH better than us! I look like I have about 30 chins. And you can write a paper on “social distance” when you’re looking at our pic.

  9. Ergo said

    I would say you have about 28 chins, you counted two extra. ;P Ah, now that you pointed it out, what’s with all that distance! It’s interesting. Perhaps y’all–being dainty women ‘n’ all–just didn’t want your clothes squished and creased on the sides?

    My raised tuft of hair looks hideously ridiculous. I’ve since changed my hairstyle… a bit.

Leave a Reply

 
