Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Peikoff’s Podcast

Posted by Jerry on October 23, 2007

Oblogger’s alert:

Dr. Leonard Peikoff has his first podcast up on his site. I’m listening to it right now! 🙂

[ht: Diana]

I’m typing this as I’m listening to the podcast. I found the second question on atheism quite interesting: one could substitute the questioner’s concern over “atheism” with any other belief that is in opposition to one’s family’s or societies accepted norm. For example, I had concerns about my mother’s emotionally distraught state when she comes to learn that her son is gay; but I realize that her emotional state would not be caused by me or my gayness but by her own faulty morality. Therefore, I refuse to psychologically burden myself with any unearned guilt in this matter.

A muslim questioner from Pakistan gets an apt reply from Peikoff: “You can’t target your weapons based on the ideas people hold.”

Well, it was a very brief podcast. I like how Peikoff speaks: it’s a strong–almost forcefully violent–voice. He has such strong oratory powers. What I didn’t like about the podcast was that I wasn’t able to download the stream onto my computer and listen to it on my iPod “Gaspard.” Is there a way to do this?

2 Responses to “Peikoff’s Podcast”

  1. Mark said

    I got it onto my iPod by right-clicking the link, saving the MP3 to a file, and dragging that file to my ITunes library.

  2. Ergo said

    Ahh… thanks Mark. I’ll try that next time. )

Leave a Reply

 
