Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

666

Posted by Jerry on September 24, 2007

John Galt Speaking

This is a dramatization of John Galt’s speech from Atlas Shrugged.

I must say I am very impressed by the video footage, which nicely visualizes the content of the voiceover. But what is most incredible about this video is the voice of Christopher Hurt as John Galt. It’s a terse and sharp voice with a distinct quality of youth.

Overall, the video is a job well done. The haunting background score adds to the dramatic value of the speech: the music evokes a sense of religious reverence, like as if one is kneeling under the soaring roof of a cathedral, rapt in worship. I did find the video almost religiously apocalyptic; but then again, John Galt was indeed delivering an apocalyptic speech in the novel.

I look forward to the other parts of the video.

Text by Ayn Rand
Read by Christopher Hurt
Edited for YouTube by XCowboy2
Music by Dominick Argento. 

Interestingly, when I posted this YouTube video on my blog, the post automatically registered the title of “666” (since each post has a number). I chose to let the number remain as the title of this post.

4 Responses to “666”

  1. Rachel said

    I’m curious to know if he secured Blackstone’s permission for the reproduction. If not, then isn’t it ironic to violate the copyright with this particular performance?

  2. Ergo said

    I wonder… hmmm. It’s kinda like in India, almost every pirated bookstall has a copy of The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged–and sometimes even We The Living! 🙂

  3. Rachel said

    Except that the situation in India is different than in the US. Although I’m still mulling over your post about piracy and property rights, that is most definitely not the case in America, nor is it with YouTube (US or no US).

    I don’t have any solid evidence, but my anecdotal experience suggests that Google is really quite irresponsible about such protections. I’ve seen it claimed that 80+% of Orkut’s profiles are fake, they’ve bowed to Chinese censorship, and I’m becoming ever more skeptical that they pursue anything but loud (i.e. financially or politically backed) complaints of copyright violation on YouTube (to wit: the accounts of having pieces summarily removed upon complaint by big companies, but dragging their feat to restore same).

    I’m a Google girl (well over half of my “web presence” is handled by Google services, and I’d be loath to give up such a powerful tool-set, but I’m beginning to lean in that direction as a matter of withholding moral sanction.

  4. Ergo said

    You’re right.

    I’ve never liked Google–both for their moral lapses in business practices as well as their inferior service quality. I positively hate the blogger platform and the way Google handles (read: ignores) it. Orkut is aesthetically an eyesore and quite clearly open to so much mis-use by nefarious individuals.
    I only tolerate google services inasmuch as I need them to meet my own ends.

Leave a Reply

 
