Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

The Left Behind Series

Posted by Jerry on August 17, 2007

I have created a new Category page called the “Left Behind Series“–not to be confused with the hell-fire-and-brimstone preaching books of the same name–as a place to gather some of my posts that directly reflected upon my personal and emotional experiences during my last few days in the United States. Those days were perhaps the most depressing and emotionally demanding days of my entire life, because I was bracing myself to experience the loss of some of my most cherished and fundamental values–chiefly among them being the loss of my lover–over a long and protracted period of time.

I decided to resurrect these old posts now and place them in a new category for the following two reasons:

  • My friend with the big mouth reflected on how blogging is such a public activity that it’s hard to be truly initimate and frank with the things you say on it. This made me remember the times when I have indeed used my blog as a medium for some personal and intimate expression. I realize that as my blog becomes increasingly public, I might be losing the ability to use it for more personal and intimate needs.
  • In a conversation today with another close friend of mine, I remarked upon how I have often found real-life conversations with some people less than fulfilling when it comes to sharing a deep understanding of emotions. For this reason, I have used my blog in the past to express myself freely and immediately. Much of this expression is realized in the form of poetry, which by its esotetic nature lends some protection to my private moments. Moreover, looking back from a more confident and secure vantage point today at the mental state of utter despair reflected in those posts, I am reminded of how resilient human beings can be if they choose to; and how emotionally powerful we can be if we stay committed to our priorities and focused on a goal in mind; and how such phases of seemingly overwhelming despair can become just the fuel you need to climb the next great height.
One Response to “The Left Behind Series”

  1. mahendrap said

    //how resilient human beings can be if they choose to; and how emotionally powerful we can be if we stay committed to our priorities and focused on a goal in mind; and how such phases of seemingly overwhelming despair can become just the fuel you need to climb the next great height.//
    Ergo: you touched my heart…

Leave a Reply

 
