Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

The Times of the Atlases

Posted by Jerry on August 2, 2007

Just try and imagine the intellectual climate of the world at the time when the following statements were first uttered:

And therefore, the Earth is not flat.

It is not the Sun that moves around the Earth, but the Earth that moves around the Sun and even spins around its own axis.

We have a common ancestor in the apes.

Every man is endowed with the inalienable to right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

I need no warrant for being, and no word of sanction upon my being. I am the warrant and the sanction.

Now imagine the stature of the men who uttered them.

3 Responses to “The Times of the Atlases”

  1. Priyank said

    Hey Ergo,
    I don’t know who said the last one, but it reminded me of the first principles – “Aham Brahmasmi” (अहम् ब्रह्मास्मी). “I am supreme, I am the only one, I am before anything else, I am the cause and the effect.” (Here ‘I’ refers to the speaker, example when Priyank says: aham brahmasmi, he is speaking about himself, and not any God, etc.)

  2. Ergo said

    The last one is by Ayn Rand in Anthem.

    Do you really think the original intent of that phrase you cite was to refer to any subjective speaker who may recite it? Or was the original intent to express the nature of a One Supreme Being? I suppose if you tell me where you got the phrase from, the answer may be implied in it. Sounds very “religious” to me.

  3. Priyank said

    Okay, I have no references.

    The phrase is from Upanishads, which, has got nothing to do with ‘religion’. Hinduism is NOT a religion, the crappy part of idol worship is not Hinduism… ugh I hope you of all people would know.

    Upanishads state that this phrase is the ‘praise of the individual’, who is superior than anything else (including God, which, by the way was a very different concept from what we are made to believe today)

Leave a Reply

 
