Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

The Proof that P: Jokes in Philosophy

Posted by Jerry on July 2, 2007

This is my first post using Windows Live Writer, and I must say it’s an awesome and incredibly efficient way to publish my posts right from my desktop! 🙂

Anyway, as a test post, I decided to have some philosophy-type jokes. The first one below about the cows I recently read on an Objectivist blogger’s site. I can’t remember who and which site, so if you’re reading this, please let me know so that I can link to your page.

The other jokes are taken from this page compiled by David Chalmers.

====

Two cows were lazily grazing on the green, rolling hills of a country-side. Just then, the first cow looked at the other and asked, “What are your thoughts on the mind-body dichotomy? Do you think it’s true?”

The other cow looked up and answered: “Moooooo!”

====

The First Law of Philosophy: For every philosopher, there exists an equal and opposite philosopher.

The Second Law of Philosophy: They’re both wrong.

====

If metaphysics is being qua being;
and if epistemology is knowing qua knowing;
then metaphilosophy must be… qua qua qua.

====

Davidson’s proof that p:
Let us make the following bold conjecture: p
Wallace’s proof that p:
Davidson has made the following bold conjecture: p
Grunbaum:
As I have asserted again and again in previous publications, p.
Lewis:
Most people find the claim that not-p completely obvious and when I assert p they give me an incredulous stare. But the fact that they find not- p obvious is no argument that it is true; and I do not know how to refute an incredulous stare. Therefore, p.

===

3 Responses to “The Proof that P: Jokes in Philosophy”

  1. Avadhut said

    It is isn’t it. I am trying to get a way to have Live Writer talk to Drupal so people in the Office can too use it. Once that is done, the even more daunting task will be to get IT to install it on our computers :(.

  2. Ergo said

    “..even more daunting task will be to get IT to install it on our computers”

    mmm yea, good luck wit dat. I don’t know why you even bother trying! *sigh*

    Well, anyway, good to see you two chipmunks re-surfacing after going MIA for god knows how long!

  3. Charlotte said

    “wit dat” !!!??

Leave a Reply

 
