Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Religion in US Elections

Posted by Jerry on June 5, 2007

It is disgusting to watch the US Presidential candidates so shamelessly pandering to religious sentiments and mysticism; you would wonder if what it takes to lead the world’s freest and most powerful country is the qualification of being the most religious candidate. There’s such rubbish being spouted by these people; here are some examples:

Presidential candidate John Edwards says:

he prays — and sins — every day. The crowd gasped loudly when moderator Soledad O’Brien asked Edwards to name the biggest sin he ever committed, and he won their applause when he said he would have a hard time naming one thing.

“I sin every single day,” said Edwards, the 2004 vice presidential nominee. “We are all sinners and we all fall short.”

“I have a deep and abiding love for my Lord, Jesus Christ,” Edwards said, but he said the United States shouldn’t be called a Christian nation.

He said he has been going to church since he was a child and was baptized as a teen. He said he strayed from his faith as an adult and it came “roaring back” when his teenage son died in 1996.

“It was the Lord that got me through that,” Edwards said, along with both of his wife’s cancer diagnoses.

[Presidential candidate Hillary] Clinton acknowledged that talking about her religious beliefs doesn’t come naturally to her.

“I take my faith very seriously and very personally,” she said. “I am very grateful that I had a grounding in faith that gave me the courage and the strength to do what I thought was right, regardless of what the world thought.” “I’m not sure I would have gotten through it without my faith,” she said in response to a question about how she dealt with the infidelity.

What, are they contesting to be the next Pope?

4 Responses to “Religion in US Elections”

  1. madmax said

    And these are just the Democrats. That’s how bad things have become.

  2. Ergo said

    Exactly. Forgot to point out that these are the so-called “secular” democrats. sigh.

  3. mahendrap said

    It is indeed disgusting…

    In recent years, I’ve been flabbergasted by the “world’s freest and most powerful country” pandering to religious whims, denying the scientific theory of evolution and denying individual rights by working to ban abortion. I’ve also found celebrities from all walks of life being introduced by saying – “and (s)he goes to church every Sunday” – as if that’s an auto-stamped approval of “likeable person”.

  4. I agree that the ridiculous subject of faith ought to be completely out of bounds for serious discussion by presidential contenders. You might enjoy reading my blog’s latest post:

    Thoughtful and Educated: Too Much to Ask?

Leave a Reply

 
