Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Overheard at the Restaurant

Posted by Jerry on November 11, 2006

Just toward the end of a busy lunch hour. I’m among the last few remaining, having my vegetable Afghani with three chapatis.

A group of servers are collected right next to my table. They speak to each other in some foreign language unknown to me. Soon, another waiter approaches the group and asks:

“Hey, what’s all the gossip about? What’s going on?

“Oh, we were just plotting your murder. I was asking him how much would it cost to blow you up.”

“Ah. Nobody can get me killed in this world. No one can kill me!” Muuaa haa haa haa haa haa haa!

Meanwhile…

A man at the table in front me speaks rather loudly into his cellphone. However, I catch only this line of his conversation:

“Oh, who cares!? I’ll wash away all my sins in my next birth. For now, I have to do what I have to do.”

======

Now, I’m thinking, Gawd is everyone going nuts today! What’s all this public talk about murder, killing, and sinning! As I step outside the restuarant, the streets are rather quiet and empty-it’s a sleepy saturday afternoon. Or, is it just the calm before a storm?? hmmm…

3 Responses to “Overheard at the Restaurant”

  1. The Rapture is nigh it seems…but it will only become to busy restaurants on quiet afternoons? Didn’t see that one coming.

  2. Hiren said

    Very interesting. I have always believed that if only the law of Karma were totally transparent, people would think three times beofore doing anything wrong and half the problems in the world would be solved.

  3. Innommable said

    Gosh! I’ve missed my iBook, and reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

 
