Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

A Short Poem

Posted by Jerry on October 12, 2006

This post is primarily to showcase a lovely verse written by my colleague (and cube-mate), Charlotte Baptista.

She showed me the poem this morning, which she wrote on an impulse while on a train. I read it, and loved it for its simple, yet evocative, character. The last couple lines, especially, lends a certain depth to this extremely short poem:

I let my eyes surrender to the rhythm,
feel the tears escape through an eyelid.
Knowing that morning will come.
To bleach my lust.

Charlotte Baptista

7 Responses to “A Short Poem”

  1. devdas said

    Jerry…

    This poem has been one of my many inspirational poems of all. 🙂 Tell your friend that her poem has touch my heart deeply. 🙂

  2. Ergo said

    Devdas,

    I passed on your note to Charlotte. She was very excited to read it. 🙂

  3. Charlotte said

    Thank you, Edgar 🙂

    And Jerr…stop passing on superfluous details. “very excited??!”

  4. Ergo said

    Oh but you were, Charlotte! Why try to deny it?!? 😉

  5. Charlotte said

    Sigh, Jerrrrrrrrrr!

    Why dont we take this discussion off the blog! See you on outlook msngr, ja?

  6. I like this discussion almost as much as I like the poem.

    I am, however, irked – nay, needled – by some of the punctuation.

  7. loser said

    boo!

Leave a Reply

 
