Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Ayn Rand at 100: International Appreciation

Posted by Jerry on August 10, 2006

I met Faiyaz Hardwarewala this evening to discuss the organizing of the book launch that’s coming next week (Aug 17). Faiyaz gave me some lovely posters with a large image of Rand for publicizing the event; I shall be helping out by putting these posters up in bookstores and colleges around here.

As far as I know, Tibor Machan is slated to attend the book launch in Mumbai along with the Director of the Liberty Institute in New Delhi; some other presenters will also be attending.

I also received a little glimpse into contents of the book that’s being launched: it’s titled “Ayn Rand at 100,” and Tibor Machan is the editor of the book. It has contributions from George Reisman, Chris Sciabarra, Douglas Den Uyl, among others. As far as I know, ARI scholars have not contributed to the book, nor, I believe, are they aware or have endorsed this book.

Here’s the content index:

Preface: Tibor R. Machan: Ayn Rand at 100

Ch.1: Bibek Debroy: Ayn Rand–The Indian Connection

Ch.2: Tibor R. Machan: Ayn Rand and Her Significant Contributions

Ch.3: J. E. Chesher: Ayn Rand’s Contribution to Moral Philosophy

Ch.4: George Reisman: Ayn Rand and Ludwig von Mises

Ch.5: Robert White: Ayn Rand’s Contribution to Liberal Thought

Ch.6: Rodrik T. Long: Ayn Rand and Indian Philosophy

Ch.7: Chris M. Sciabarra: Ayn Rand–A Centennial Appreciation

Ch.8: Fred Seddon: Ayn Rand–An Appreciation

Ch.9: Elaine Sternberg: Why Ayn Rand Matters: Metaphysics, Morals, and Liberty

Ch.10: Douglas Den Uyl: Ayn Rand’s First Great Hit, The Fountainhead

I believe this book is being launched first in India before elsewhere (if at all elsewhere) given some of its chapter titles stating a direct reference to Indian philosophy. Some of the contributors are well-known in Objectivist circles, like Sciabarra, Reisman, Den Uyl, and Machan. I haven’t heard of the others, but I have a brief description of each of these contributors:

Rodrik T. Long is an associate professor of philosophy at Auburn University, AL

Fred Seddon is an author of over 100 books, articles, reviews, and speeches. He is an international scholar and has been president of the West Virginia Philosophical Society since 1988, and the associate member of the Center for the Philosophy of Science at the University of Pittsburgh. His latest book is Ayn Rand, Objectivists, and the History of Philosophy.

Elaine Sternberg is a Visiting Fellow in Philosophy at the University of Leeds and the author of Just Business: Business Ethics in Action among other works. Several of her books are available at http://www.ethicalgovernance.com

Robert White is a PhD candidate in political philosophy at the University of Auckland, New Zealand, where he has also lectured on the moral and political issues in globalization.

Update

My Desk at Workphoto-0004.jpgToday, I took 2 of the event posters to work. I got one up at my little cubicle (see pictures); I pasted the Ayn Rand poster right next to a sketch of myself that was made by a very good friend of mine in Chicago. The poster and the sketch attracted quite some attention; some even commented on how alike my sketch and Rand’s picture look!

I think two colleagues from my work have decided to attend the event along with me. Apparently, everyone at my work atleast *know* of Ayn Rand; some have actually read her major fictional works–We The Living, The Fountainhead, and Atlas Shrugged. It’s good to know that Rand is so well known around here.

For those of you in Mumbai reading this, I recommend getting to know Ayn Rand, the author-philosopher, if you haven’t read any of her works already. Attending this book launch might be a good opportunity to meet others (and ME!) who may have some familiarity with Rand’s awesome works and her revolutionary philosophy.

The details of the event:

Thursday, August 17, 2006
7:00 pm
Crossword Book Store,
Kemps Corner
Mumbai City

5 Responses to “Ayn Rand at 100: International Appreciation”

  1. anon said

    “Some of the contributors are well-known in Objectivist circles, like Sciabarra, Reisman, Den Uyl, and Machan.”

    Well known, but not respected. But I think you already know that.

  2. Mark said

    It is my understanding that Machan, in particular, is a libertarian, and therefore would not be welcome in the ARI camp. But I could be mistaken.

  3. Mark said

    If I lived in Mumbai I’d be right there with you, Ergo!

  4. Ergo said

    Thanks Mark, it would certainly have been nice to meet a fellow Objectivist!

  5. Sasy Kumar said

    Great Site indeed !; and best wishes to you and Faiyaz (we are acquainted) on the occasion of the book launch. Will be an excellent opportunity to meet with and perchance integrate the scattered diaspora of Mumbai based AynRandians !
    Regards
    Sasy Kumar

Leave a Reply

 
