Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Ignorant Indian Collegiates; And a Word of Advice to All You Homos!

Posted by Jerry on June 21, 2006

College students are clearly of the age where they can and probably do engage in sexual intimacies. And if they do choose to be sexually intimate, I believe it is their moral and rational obligation to be cognizant of all the risks associated with their actions, such as pregnancies and sexually transmitted diseases. Failing to educate yourself of the consequences of your actions, especially when such information is readily available in most cases, is wilful negligence, life-threatening, and a possible violation of other's rights.

So, I am quite shocked that the college students of Mumbai, India are so utterly ignorant of some very important matters regarding STDs:

According to the Times of India-Bombay Times, a survey conducted by Wockhardt-Harvard Medical International HIV/AIDS Education and Research Foundation (WHARF) found that a "shockingly 40% of [Mumbai] city collegians believe that HIV is transmitted through kissing.
About 30% believe it can be spread through hugging.
About 45% believe it spreads through mosquito bites.
About 25% believe it can spread through sharing of clothes.

"Of those polled, 60% boys said that they had received their information on HIV/AIDS in their schools, while only 22% of girls had received such information." [Bombay Times]

In the same paper, a few pages later, Dr. Rajan Bhonsle, Sexologist–writes some words of advice in response to a reader question about the "details of anal sex." It's, I think, the most disturbing and grossest thing I've ever read in a newspaper! Well, I suppose the good thing in all of this is that sex now being discussed openly in the papers (even anal sex!) I'm only excerpting a few parts; the last sentence is especially noteworthy:

"Basically, the anus is not designed for penetration by any hard object. The anal sphincter tightens ordinarily when stimulated, and attempts at penile insertions may be distressing even if done slowly and gently. The lining of the rectum is very thin, tears easily, does not heal very fast and so, it is vulnerable to infections. The tears [in the lining of the rectum] can enlarge to a fissure or a crack leading to the outside of your body. These are painful and slow to heal. There is the remote possibility that a fistula could open up, allowing feces to reroute into the abdominal cavity or into the vagina. There is also the increased risk of hemorrhoids, which are quite uncomfortable. By the way, I would like you to know that as per Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code (1860), "anal sex" is a punishable offence, even when it is happening between husband and wife with mutual consent."

!!!

4 Responses to “Ignorant Indian Collegiates; And a Word of Advice to All You Homos!”

  1. innommable said

    My anus must be made of rubber!

  2. Jason said

    Eww, in a newspaper? I wouldn’t even want to see that on the six o’clock news! Of course, the weather man is a hottie, so perhaps if they had visuals…

    Ew! Ew! Ew! Bad visual, bad visual!!!!

    It’s also disappointing to see the percentage difference between how many girls and how many boys had even heard of information regarding HIV/AIDS in schools…

    They will learn one day, Ignorance is NOT bliss…

    Innommable: Rubber Anus? Is that a new superpower that the fantastic four never touched on? LOL!

  3. Devdas... said

    Aaaah!!!

    I can almost feel my ass healing….. Dr. Rajan Bhonsle what can I do to prevent this…?

    No!!!!

  4. innommable said

    It’s a bird! It’s a plane! No! It’s. . . SUPER BOTTOM!

  5. Jason: all bottoms seem to think that they are very special because they put things in their asses. I’ve never understood this. I have to say, I don’t think I’ve ever heard any claim super powers, but maybe I just haven’t been listening.

    The doctor’s expose is very informative and enlightening. He seems to stop just short of cautioning that “you’ll get stinky poo on your noodle!!!” I often wish I had been more scared of sex when I was younger; I was well informed about it, but until fairly recently I took an inexplicably stupid “it can’t happen to me” attitude. Luckily, “it” didn’t happen to me, but my god, how stupid have I been in my youth!!!

    Notice the doctor does NOT point out that 337 of the penile (hardy har har) code is rarely enforced.

Leave a Reply

 
