Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

24 Year Old Children

Posted by Jerry on April 24, 2006

So, today was my first day of being out of the house all day since I arrived in India. I left early this morning along with my dad to check out his factories and just look over the state of the business… I suppose. Frankly, I have very little idea of what’s happening at the factories. Dad asked that I come along, so I complied.

Anyway, after that I had a meeting with my old college friend who now works for Disney India as their animation/promo editor. He’s got a lovely workplace, with all the latest and best equipment to do his job. He says the job also pays really well. Yet, he is persistently looking for jobs abroad – mostly in the US – because he just wants to get out of this country. It’s all a matter of the “quality of life”, he says. I whole heartedly agree with him.

Well, so I spent practically all afternoon and evening with him; first at his work, then at his home nearby. Towards the evening, I started receiving intermittent phone calls from both my mom and my dad on my cell. “Just wanted to know where you are and what you’re doing,” they said. “Just checking.”

Anyway.

After I left my friends place, I headed over to the gym (I finally decided it was time to curb my gustatory enthusiasm, tone down the exuberance of my palate, and work up a real sweat). I received a couple more calls from my parents on my way to the gym – oh, just wondering where I was. “On my way to the gym”, I replied. Oh, okay.

While at the gym, I usually leave my cell phone in the locker. After an intense and strenuous work out, I showered, freshened up, and checked my cell phone for messages:

Twelve missed calls.
All of them from Dad.

I called back.
“Where are you man?” Dad asked, a little irate.
“On my way home from the gym now”.
“Oh okay. Come fast!”

I finally reach home. Mom and dad are glad to see me home. A few questions are asked – “how long were you at your friends? Where does he live? So long at the gym? Long work-out? Did you like it?”

Okay, answered everything to their satisfaction. Decided to get some mango juice to drink. Dad goes off to the master bedroom, mom comes up to me and in a soft voice says, “it’s 9:30pm, good children don’t stay out this late. You must come home before 9:30. Don’t stay out late like bad boys.”

That finally agitated me to no end. I decided to respond curtly, firmly, yet respectfully. “Mom,” I said, “there are no children here. I am a 24 year old adult male who has lived the past seven years of my life in the United States all by myself. I have made my own decisions, lived my life responsibly, and have made my own schedules. That is exactly what I intend to do here also. I will try my best to come home in the evenings as early as I can. But you should not give me a time, nor can I promise you a time by which I will be home every evening.”

That was the end of the discussion. Mom didn’t respond. The topic switched to how my friend was doing and other ancillary matters. Was I hungry? Yes, okay. I got some food… picked up a book and ate while I read, quietly, while mom got herself settled for her evening of three favorite back-to-back soap operas.

In the meantime, I wait…
For my hair to grow.

6 Responses to “24 Year Old Children”

  1. Tyrel said

    Oh to have a full head of hair….sigh

  2. Ergo Sum said

    Umm… hun, the snide remark about the hair on my head coming from YOU is so ironic! It makes me LOL!

  3. innommable said

    Woah! What a funny funny blog!

  4. Ugh! I hope you can stand it! I hate how parents can be so overbearing at times, but I’m sure my parents were never quite so annoyingly overbearing….

    I also assume they’re trying to find you a nice Indian girl to marry? Hang out at the gym long enough, maybe they’ll get a clue (Cliche, I know, but it did make me giggle!) 😀

    Just keep hope that in time you will get your passport and visa approved and you can escape once again… but like most things, there will probably need to be a lot of harsh honesty between you and the parents if freedom from their chains is ever to truly happen…

    Keep hope alive! And, at least, your mind will always be your own…

    Still glad you’re back!

  5. Jess said

    Oh ,I’m 23.5 and my mom still treats me as a young teen.Sigh..I guess it’s because I still live with my parents thus I aint responsible and I’m dependent emotionally and financially on them.

  6. Ergo said

    Jess,

    🙂 I guess if you’re “emotionally and financially” dependent on your parents, I can understand why your mom would treat you as a “young teen”.
    However, my situation is quite different. I lived away from home for more than 13 yrs of my life… 7 yrs of which I was mostly financially independent (and almost always “emotionally” independent in many ways… like I never was ‘homesick’ or anything like that).

    Now, I am sort of forced into dependency… mostly of the financial kind, even though I have my own job and source of income, etc. 😦

Leave a Reply

 
