Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Nature’s Song

Posted by Jerry on January 18, 2006

On ebbing crescents
of silver waves, I see
memories gathering
percolating
crashing

It's mournful sighs
whispered to pearly pebbles
like faded stars twinkling
slowly
swaying

Every blue memory reflected
every stony silence rejected
it's gushing sounds
echoing through Van Gogh's clouds
in muffled hearts
weep a lover's Psalm

Mine eyes add another drop
to the torrent of his saline tears
my hands reach out to grasp
his soul
sinking
in dark nights of fear

Under the grey moonlit mantle
A sad river reveals my passion
water-colored paintings
of pearly smooth pebbles
with every smile for your thoughts in me
The river stops a moment
to sigh with me

6 Responses to “Nature’s Song”

  1. Anonymous said

    an extra word in a poem is like an extra anus on a person.

  2. Ergo Sum said

    Yeah… and for a gay man like me, that would be a fantastic situation! 🙂 The more anuses the better! lol

  3. Semperviva said

    euw

  4. Mmm… the more ass the better, n’est-ce pas?

  5. Ergo Sum said

    As I was re-reading this poem, I couldn’t help but observe how AWESOME this line is… “The river stops a moment, to sigh with me”….

    I love it, I love it, I love it!! 🙂

  6. erumelmo said

    Yes, it is a beautiful poem. I like the lyricism that flows through the 4th stanza in particular and I was moved by this image:

    “it’s gushing sounds
    echoing through Van Gogh’s clouds”

    I can picture the scene very vividly because I love his paintings.

Leave a Reply

 
