Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Reverse Racism

Posted by Jerry on December 29, 2005

Last night on ABC News Nightline, I watched a segment about the Justice Department bringing a lawsuit against a black politician in Mississippi, alleging racial discrimination against white people in his community.

And I was pleased.

I do not really care about the particulars of this case: whether or not this black politician is/was infact racist, or whether there is any merit to the case. None of that matter.

Nor does it matter to me that the news story portrayed the arguments as a race issue – as that of whites versus the blacks. Nightline could have decided to tell the story as that of a politician blatantly advocating and violating the civil rights of a group of people – but it chose not to. Clearly, that the majority of the alleged victims of this violation were whites, and the politician was black, played an influencing factor in how the news agency chose to tell the story.

I was pleased because finally someone is shattering the silence about that which has always been pretty quietly obvious, prevalent, and condoned in this society.

I don’t have any more interest in discussing this issue other than stating that racism is a pathetic behavioral mind-set regardless of who’s committing it. It just so happens that our society passively accepts and sometimes even condones blatantly racist attitudes against whites and/or other groups by blacks – and that I fully despise.

While I condemn racism — because society chooses to view these violations as a matter of race — I am also keenly aware of the fact that race is a social facade that covers the true reason, motivation, and nature of these crimes, and hence, my true condemnation is and should be directed towards those underlying nature of the crimes, such as fundamentalist or collectivist attitudes, moral relativism, religious fanaticism, corruption, etc.

3 Responses to “Reverse Racism”

  1. Gazoo said

    How was he discriminating against white people? I didn’t see the program so I’m wondering.

  2. Anonymous said

    I didn’t watch it either but one example I can think of rather quickly is the admittance of blacks into college because they are black. That is clearly a case of whites being discriminated against. I forget what word that is called though…

  3. Ergo Sum said

    Oh, I don’t have the details – but he was allegedly discouraging white folks from voting, making it really hard for White republicans to register to vote in his district… something related to that.
    And apparently, he has quite a reputation of being very vocal in his preference for black candidates — he endorsed a black democratic candidate over a white democratic candidate…
    The people in his little county/town/village have a pretty good sense that this man is racist (or, I guess reverse-racist?)

    Um.. anonymous, are you referring to the quota system in colleges? Also, I believe that the issue you are referring to is not so “clearly” a matter of whites being discriminated against… I have my reservations about that system too, but it ain’t that clear-cut.
    Again, you must dig past the racial issues and look at the foundational motivations.

Leave a Reply

 
