Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

“We The Living” – by Ayn Rand

Posted by Jerry on December 28, 2005

I’ve read a few reviews around different places on “We The Living”, and many of them capture some of the same opinions I have about the novel.

So, I’m just going to throw out some words/phrases that come to mind when I think about the story of the novel:

Poignant, tragic, grand, vivid, sad, inspiring, torrid love affairs, moving, shocking, benevolent, desire, romantic, love captured and described like how love should be, human strength, highest value, worship, weakness, anger, hate, purposeful, beautiful…

P.S. Here's the wikipedia contribution I made to its entry on "We The Living" (follow the link in the title of this post):

"Being that Rand was only 25 years old when she began working on this
novel, the integration of the theme and plot reveal, through the characters of
the book, a young Rand only beginning to formulate her philosophical view of man and life. Some critics have also argued that 'We The Living' is primarily a
grand story of romance and tragic love set in the backdrop of Soviet Russia,
that reveal Rand's own intimate convictions about love and human relationships
more than any of her other fictional and non-fictional writings."

6 Responses to ““We The Living” – by Ayn Rand”

  1. Ergo Sum said

    P.S. When I contributed this part on Wikipedia, “Some critics have also argued that…” I momentarily hesitated with just a touch of guilt…”hmm… some critics? Do I know of any?” And then I realized, “ofcourse, I’m a critic myself! Why not!?”

  2. Ergo Sum said

    P.P.S.: I also thought of adding that “MPR is all over WTL”! haha!

    It’s crazy!

  3. Philip Coates said

    Ergosum,

    I just discovered your blog and I find your refelections on various literary and cultural subjects, objectivist and non-objectivist, quite original and interesting.

    Philip Coates

  4. Ergo Sum said

    Thank you Philip. I’m proud that you think that about me. I will freely admit, however, that my knowledge in many areas, including Objectivism, is very limited and am very eager to learn… read… discover more.
    So, while I am most proud of everything on my blog, I am also well aware of things I have said and positions I have held that seemed true to me at the time of my writing, but which I would probably change or modify or qualify more clearly were I to state them again.

    Do you have a site/blog that I could visit?

  5. […] between Guevara and the character of Andrei Taganov (a communist leader in Ayn Rand’s We The Living). I admit I know practically nothing about Guevara. However, from what I hear, it appears that he […]

  6. […] my own experience after having read We The Living was fairly similar. In my blogpost after reading the novel, I was simply unable to coherently formulate sentences and describe my emotional reaction; […]

Leave a Reply

 
