Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

My Roommate is so Open-minded!

Posted by Jerry on September 29, 2005

My roommate and I had a talk last night. We get along great… and we had quite a fiesty discussion (in a very positive sense) about beliefs.
He had apparently started reading my one and only copy of the Bible that takes its place among numerous other books on my bookshelf. My bookshelf has categorical classifications, and I tend to place the Bible somewhere in the Philo/Theological section of books.

Anyway, so my roommate had recently decided to read the Bible for the first time in his life, since he had never read the bible before. And thus, began our discussion on beliefs and reality. According to my roommate, I am very close-minded because I am an atheist. I hold on to a rigid position without considering God’s existence as even a remote possibility.
(Of course, I think his characterization of my beliefs is utterly inaccurate! But that’s for later).

So, he says he is very open-minded about things that he does not know or cannot know. Hence, he told me that in varying degrees of faith/knowledge, he believes in the following:

God, souls, Jesus, Krishna, saints, ghosts, heaven, hell, demons, black-magic, witchcraft, witches, aliens, unicorns, werewolfs, and vampires.

I asked him if he believed in the possible existence (since he is so open-minded) of the following. He said HE DID NOT BELIEVE in the existence of these:

Batman, Superman, Spiderman (spiderman — he did think there was some evidence that it could be true), Daredevil, etc.

So, it was fascinating for me to know all these things in believed in and things he did not believe in. I couldn’t get a clear and coherent explanation of the difference between the two sets of things.
Apparently, he wishes to always remain open to any kind of possibilities — like Unicorns, etc. and not deny that either they might have existed at some time in the past, or still currently exist somewhere right now.

It’s funny, how the divorce of Reason from the human mind in place of faith can give rise to such “open-minded” beliefs. I wonder if human civilization would have been able to come thus far in medicine, in science, in technology, in communication, in language, in computers, in art and architecture, etc. if all humans held “open-minded” beliefs in unicorns, vampires, werewolfs, witches, etc.
Who knows, we might have invented a “werewolf-inator”!

4 Responses to “My Roommate is so Open-minded!”

  1. who’s your roomate?

  2. Ergo Sum said

    Oh.. you don’t know him. He’s kinda GHETTO… in a cool way!;) ha!

  3. Devdas said

    I’ve seen batman and superman…and all those awsome cool guys on TV… Of course they are real!! You only get to see them in Disney Land or Universal Studios…!

  4. Ergo Sum said

    Umm… actually.. NO. Batman and Superman are not in Disney Land. I checked… the last time I went there… 🙂
    Now, Unicorns? Yea.. they exist.

Leave a Reply

 
