Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

Life in a Big City

Posted by Jerry on August 31, 2005

Ya know, life in a big city just never gets boring! 😉

Like today, I was walking around the streets during my lunch hour… specifically on South Michigan Ave., when suddenly the michigan draw-bridge split open! I was like, Damn, what the heck is goin on!? There was all this clanging noises, red lights flashing, cops driving up and pulling over, the traffic and intersection got jammed, city crew began gathering up at the base of the bridge… overall, it was a crazy, chaotic scene.
I thought, all this DRAMA for probably just a boat passing through? Hmm… but apparently not! I went around asking the city crews just what the big deal was.. and in typical chicago attitude they refused to answer.. they didn’t even say they would not answer. I just got a plain, blank, stare – like from a cow.

Anyway, so the whole reporter/journalist instinct in me took over and I looked around for a News agency van… ofcourse, I thought, that this was an unusual incident, the local media would want to cover it… and sure enough, NBC 5 was there on the spot (well, it’s quite convenient for NBC 5 cuz their studios are just a block north on the other side of the bridge).
So anyway, I went up to one of the guys in the news van and asked him what the big deal was. He had to know, I thought… I mean he works for a NEWS agency!

He told me that apparently the bridge malfunctioned and went off on its own…. it started blaring signals… and got stuck somewhere half way while rising up or lowering down. He said he was not sure of all the details yet…

So, I was like… hmm, damn. Now, how do I get on the other side of this bridge so I can head back to work? Ironically, I work in the NBC Tower building which is just on the other side of the river. Well, after waiting for what seemed like too long, I decided to take the long route through Upper Wacker drive, then climb down the stairs to Columbus drive, and then walk up to the NBC Tower.
On the way, I suddenly remember that HEY I HAVE A CAMERA PHONE!!! Taking pictures is what it’s for!! So I whipped out my tiny little camera phone and snapped this picture of the entire episode!

Hmm… so that was my lunchtime adventure! 😉
Never a dull day in this big city, I say. 🙂

6 Responses to “Life in a Big City”

  1. innommable said

    wow… that’s drama!

  2. innommable said

    and a good pic of it too!

  3. i heard gas is up to 6 dollars a gallon near chicago- is it really?

  4. Ergo Sum said

    I’m not sure of 6 dollars.. but I’ve seen 4 dollars/gallon prices!

  5. Tyrel said

    $4??? Where?

  6. Anonymous said

    Gossip Blog Launches Queer Blog
    Celebrity blog Jossip publisher David Hauslaib has launched Queerty , a blog about all things queer.
    Btw….did you create the grahics here or were they included?

    Just wondering 🙂

    Pam
    irritable bowel syndrome candida

Leave a Reply

 
