Leitmotif

Reason as the Leading Motive

“The Hours” – The Movie

Posted by Jerry on January 4, 2006

I recently bought the collectors edition of "The Hours" – a movie adapted from Michael Cunningham's novel with the same name. It is a story of Virginia Woolf as the writer of "Mrs. Dalloway", a reader reading "Mrs. Dalloway", and a character who is throwing a party, much like "Mrs. Dalloway".

Anyway, it's a great movie – one of my favorites. I've watched it atleast 5 times now. I so deeply identify with movie's sense of life on the whole, and I specifically identify with Virginia Woolf and the "reader's" (played by Julian Moore) sense of what life should be.

I decided to pick out some favorite quotes from the movie to express the sentiments that I identify with:

Virginia: "I choose not the suffocating anesthetic of these suburbs… but the violent jolt of the capital, that is my choice!
The meanest patient, just even the very lowest, is allowed some say in the matter of her own prescription. Thereby she defines her humanity."

Julian Moore: "What does it mean to regret when you have no choice? It's what you can bear.
There it is…no one is going to forgive me. It was death. I chose life."

Virginia: "…to look life in the face, always… to look life in the face… and to know it… for what it is… at last to know it… to love it… for what it is…"

And being consistent with the theme and the spirit of these quotes, I bring up my own thoughts on this issue from one of my earliest blogposts, "Life As it Ought to be":

"Life should be enticing. Life must have some texture. You must… feel that you're living. You must be seduced and intoxicated by your life. It is only the irregularities of anguish and happiness, pain and joy, contentment and desire that creates the texture of life."

10 Responses to ““The Hours” – The Movie”

  1. Semperviva said

    I’ve heard that this is an amazing movie, from mah fren peter, the one who makes up in my psyche, along with u and some others a conglomerative (thats not a word is it?)character known as asch dempsey lol ;)

  2. Semperviva said

    “Life should be enticing. Life must have some texture. You must… feel that you’re living. You must be seduced and intoxicated by your life. It is only the irregularities of anguish and happiness, pain and joy, contentment and desire that creates the texture of life.”

    awesome. very cool quote Jer :D

  3. innommable said

    What an awesome movie… can I borrow it Ergo?

  4. Semperviva said

    lol jer i quoted you on my blog… haha so u remember when i posted that hing that said

    “can someone tell said blogger “ergo sum” that i am in love with him?

    ahahaha!
    oh, the irony

  5. Ergo Sum said

    Sure, I’ll let you borrow it, Innommable…

    I’ve had a strangely busy day today… and I had so many things I had planned to blog about! Oh well… it’s almost time to go home now though.

  6. Gazoo said

    Not only is this one of my favorite movies, the first quote is my favorite scene. I’m surprised you haven’t seen this before.

  7. Semperviva said

    if u like virginia wolf u should def. read a room of ones own

  8. Ergo Sum said

    It has come to my awareness that the director of “The Hours”, Stephen Daldry, is also the director of “Billy Elliot”! And that is one of my other all-time favorite movies… notice it’s on my profile “movies” section.

  9. Acting Tips

    Interesting article, Thanks for sharing.

  10. Excellent! If I could write like this I would be well chuffed. The more I see articles of such quality as this (which is rare), the more I think there might be a future for the Web. Keep it up, as it were.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

